Kids' pocket money apps in Malaysia: an honest comparison (2026)
Kids' pocket money apps in Malaysia come in two kinds. Money tools like Maybank MAE, HLB Pocket Connect, Vircle and BSN Cashless School hold and move real money through an account or card. Effort tools like UrusFamily track chores, points and an RM allowance balance, and parents pay in cash or by transfer. Many families need one of each.
Costs and terms checked 31 Oct 2026
Disclosure: we make UrusFamily. UrusFamily holds no money and issues no card. Every other fact comes from the provider's own pages.
What is the difference between a money tool and an effort tool?
Two different questions: where the money sits, and how the child earns it.
Money tools
Hold and move real money. The child can pay at the canteen, a shop or online.
- A child savings account at a bank
- A debit card or prepaid Visa card with limits
- A school e-wallet for the canteen and co-op
Examples: Maybank MAE, HLB Pocket Connect, Vircle, BSN Cashless School
Effort tools
Track chores, points and an allowance balance. No money in the app, parents pay themselves.
- A chore list and points for each child
- An RM allowance balance that follows effort
- Save, spend and give before the money is handed over
Examples: UrusFamily, Bomad
How do kids' pocket money apps in Malaysia compare?
Every cell comes from the provider's own pages. Where a source is silent, we write not stated.
Swipe the table left to see every column.
| Product | Type | Age | What it does | Cost in RM | Needs a bank account | Made in Malaysia |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| UrusFamilyOur app | Effort toolChore and allowance tracker | Whole familyChore lists for ages 4 to 17, kids use a PIN with no account of their own | Chores, points and an RM allowance balanceSave, spend and give, spend requests, duit raya records | Free during launchThen RM 9.90 a month or RM 79 a year for the whole family | NoNo payment inside the app, parents pay in cash or by transfer | YesBuilt in Malaysia |
| Maybank MAE (Task It, Yippie)Bank | Money toolBank app with a child account | Under 18For the Yippie account, guardian up to 60. Task It age not stated | Tasks with rewards, child savings accountTask It in the MAE app, the reward is sent once the task is done | Yippie account from RM 1Task It fees not stated | YesParent needs a Maybank current or savings account to open Yippie in MAE | YesMalayan Banking Berhad |
| HLB Pocket ConnectBank | Money toolJunior account, debit card and app | Under 18Children with MyKid or MyKad | Save, spend and tasks with rewardsReloadable Junior Visa debit card, limits and blocks set by parents | Account from RM 1Card: RM 8 issuance and RM 8 a year, or RM 5 with HLB Smartlink | YesChild needs an HLB junior account, parent opens it at a branch | YesHong Leong Bank Berhad |
| VirclePrepaid card and e-wallet | Money toolPrepaid Visa card and kids' e-wallet | From age 7SafePAY Jr suggests around age 8 | Pocket money, card, DuitNow QR and missionsDaily limits, spending categories, card freeze, canteen payments at partner schools | Vircle Club RM 8 a monthOne-time sign-up RM 20. SafePAY Jr via CelcomDigi: RM 8 a month plus RM 10 once | Not for the childThe prepaid card is not linked to a bank account, parents top it up | YesDebit Circles Sdn Bhd, Kuala Lumpur |
| BSN Cashless School (Orijin School)School e-wallet | Money toolStudent card and BSN savings account | Ages 7 to 18Primary: Student Card. Secondary: BSN Visa Debit Card | Pay at the school canteen, bookshop and co-opParents top up and set a daily limit in the Orijin School app | RM 10 to open a savings accountOther fees not stated | YesA BSN savings account | YesBSN, run by CPro Solutions Sdn Bhd |
| BomadVirtual piggy bank | Effort toolVirtual piggy bank tracker | Not stated | Virtual accounts for allowance, savings and choresSplit allowance across accounts, savings goals | Free with subscriptionsRM 14.90 to RM 17.90 a month, or RM 119.90 to RM 129.90 a year on the Malaysian App Store | NoTracks balances, holds no money | Not statedDeveloper: Graeme Pyle |
Checked 31 Oct 2026. Fees can change, so confirm with the provider before opening an account. Full sources in the how we checked section.
Which one should you choose for your family?
Start with your family's situation, not a feature list.
- Primary school child, and the school is in BSN's Cashless School programmeBSN Cashless School. Built for the school canteen and co-op.
- You want the child to pay at shops or online, within limits you setVircle or HLB Pocket Connect. A prepaid card with no bank account, or a bank junior debit card.
- You already bank with Maybank and want to open a child savings account from your phoneMaybank MAE. Yippie account from RM 1 and tasks with Task It.
- You want the child to learn that allowance comes from effort, with no card or accountUrusFamily. Chores, points and an RM balance, you pay in cash or by transfer.
- Your child already has a card, but chores and allowance are still counted in WhatsAppUrusFamily alongside your money tool. UrusFamily works out the amount, the card receives the money.
- You only want a virtual piggy bank record, in EnglishBomad. Simple virtual accounts for each child.
- Your child is young and a tabung at home is enoughNo app needed. Use our allowance calculator to set the amount.
What are the strengths and weak spots of each?
The two or three things that matter most for each option.
UrusFamily
Tracks chores, points and allowance in RM. The real money stays with the parents.
Free during launch. Then RM 9.90 a month or RM 79 a year for the whole family.
- Strength
- Allowance follows effort: a rate per point, for example RM 0.10, with a weekly cap
- Strength
- Bahasa Melayu by default, plus English, Chinese and Tamil
- Strength
- No bank account, card or phone of their own needed for the child
- Good to know
- Holds no money and cannot be used to pay at a shop
- Good to know
- Launched Oct 2026, so store reviews are still few
Maybank MAE (Task It, Yippie)
The Task It feature in the MAE app plus the Yippie or Yippie-i child savings account.
Yippie or Yippie-i opens with RM 1. Fees for Task It are not stated.
- Strength
- Tasks and rewards inside a bank app many parents already use
- Strength
- A child savings account can be opened through MAE
- Good to know
- Needs a parent Maybank account
- Good to know
- The Yippie account stays in the parent's name even after the child turns 18
HLB Pocket Connect
A 3-in-1 Junior Account with a Junior Debit Card and an app for the child.
The account opens with RM 1. Junior Debit Card: RM 8 issuance fee and RM 8 annual fee (RM 5 with HLB Smartlink). Over-the-counter reload RM 2.
- Strength
- Savings, card and rewarded tasks in one setup
- Strength
- Parents set limits, choose where it can be used and can freeze the card
- Good to know
- The card has issuance and annual fees
- Good to know
- Opening the account needs a branch visit
Vircle
A prepaid Visa card and e-wallet for children, controlled from the parent's app.
Vircle Club RM 8 a month with a one-time RM 20 sign-up fee. The same page also shows an annual plan at two different prices. SafePAY Jr via CelcomDigi: RM 8 a month and a RM 10 processing fee.
- Strength
- The child can pay wherever Visa or DuitNow QR is accepted, without a phone
- Strength
- Missions and rewarded tasks, plus detailed spending controls
- Good to know
- A monthly fee for the card
- Good to know
- Top-up methods and their fees are not stated on the pages we checked
BSN Cashless School (Orijin School)
BSN's cashless school programme, with the Orijin School parent app.
RM 10 to open a BSN savings account. Other fees are not stated on the programme page.
- Strength
- Built for the school canteen and shop, so primary pupils carry no cash
- Strength
- Parents see every purchase and set a daily limit
- Good to know
- Only if your child's school is in the programme. Orijin lists more than 260 schools as at Sept 2026
- Good to know
- The primary Student Card works only at programme schools
Bomad
A virtual piggy bank and allowance tracker. Parents keep the real money.
Free to download. Subscriptions RM 14.90 to RM 17.90 a month, or RM 119.90 to RM 129.90 a year, on the Malaysian App Store.
- Strength
- Simple virtual accounts for each child, no bank needed
- Strength
- Splits allowance across accounts such as save and spend
- Good to know
- English only in the App Store listing
- Good to know
- RM display and the developer's country are not stated
Can you use a money tool and an effort tool together?
Yes, and this is the setup that suits most Malaysian families.
- In UrusFamily, set a rate per point, for example RM 0.10, and a weekly cap.
- The child ticks chores done, a parent approves, and the RM allowance balance grows.
- On allowance day, pay that amount in cash, by transfer, or as a top-up to the child's card or account.
- When the child wants to spend, they send a request in UrusFamily and you approve or decline it.
UrusFamily does not connect to any bank or card. You move the money yourself, so no account numbers are stored in the app.
How did we check this comparison?
In short: the provider's own pages only, one check date, and no overall score.
- Every cost, age and condition was checked on 31 Oct 2026 on each provider's official pages and on the Malaysian App Store.
- Maybank's pages would not load in our checking tools that day. Maybank facts come from the text of Maybank's own pages as indexed by search engines on the same day.
- Products we could not confirm exist for families in Malaysia, such as OCBC MyOwn, whose sources describe a Singapore account, are left out.
- Not stated means the official source does not mention it. It does not mean the feature is missing.
- We did not open every account or buy every plan. This compares what each provider states, not hands-on use.
- No ranking or stars. We give picks by family situation because every home needs something different.
Sources, all accessed 31 Oct 2026: UrusFamily pricing, UrusFamily features, Maybank: Task It, Maybank: young family, Maybank: Yippie savings account, Maybank account terms 2026, HLB Pocket Connect, HLB Pocket Connect FAQ, HLB debit card fees, Vircle Club, Vircle, CelcomDigi SafePAY Jr, BSN Cashless School, Orijin by CPro Solutions, App Store Malaysia: Bomad, Bomad.
Questions about kids' pocket money apps
What is the best pocket money app for kids in Malaysia?
It depends on what you need. To hold and spend real money, pick a money tool such as Vircle, HLB Pocket Connect, Maybank MAE, or BSN Cashless School if your child's school takes part. To tie allowance to chores, pick an effort tool such as UrusFamily, which we make. Many families use both.
Does UrusFamily hold my child's money?
No. UrusFamily holds no money, issues no card and does not connect to any bank. It tracks chores, points and an RM allowance balance. Parents pay themselves in cash, by transfer or as a top-up to the child's card.
Which kids' money apps do not need a bank account?
UrusFamily and Bomad only track balances, so the child needs no bank account. Vircle's prepaid Visa card is also not linked to a bank account, but a parent has to top it up. Maybank Yippie, HLB Pocket Connect and BSN Cashless School all need a bank account.
At what age can a child have their own card?
Vircle says children can start using its card as early as age 7. BSN gives a Student Card to primary pupils aged 7 to 12 and a Visa Debit Card to students aged 13 to 18. HLB's Junior Debit Card is for children under 18 with a junior account.
Can I use UrusFamily with Vircle or a bank card?
Yes. UrusFamily works out the allowance from chores and points. On allowance day, you move that amount to the Vircle card, junior debit card or child's account yourself. UrusFamily stores no account numbers.
How much do kids' pocket money apps cost in Malaysia?
On 31 Oct 2026: Vircle Club RM 8 a month with a RM 20 sign-up fee, HLB Junior Debit Card RM 8 to issue and RM 8 a year, a Maybank Yippie account from RM 1, and a BSN account RM 10. UrusFamily is free during launch, then RM 79 a year for the whole family.



